RSS

Tag Archives: Photography

Ocotillo Forest

Agave and OcotilloI thought my person was taking me to look for the elusive century plant again today, but she had other ideas in mind. We went on a part of my trails that I’ve never been on before. We hiked up a ways and climbed over some rocks until she told me we were there.

I’m not sure where there was, and I’m not sure what we were supposed to be looking at – but whatever they are, they sure are strange looking.

.

.

.

.

Ocotillo and Mogollon Rim

Flowering Ocotillo

My person said these tall, skinny things are called ocotillo and this is the only place on my trails that she’s found them. She said the first “o” is short, the last two are long and the double l is pronounced like a “y”. I just pronounce it “woof.”

Okay, we’ve seen those funny things. I’m ready to go on now.

Bongo and Ocotillo

What? There’s more of them? And you’re going to make me stay here while you take pictures? They look pretty dead, except for the ones with little red flowers on top.

Blooming Ocotillo

Ocotillo Blooms

Ocotillo Flowers

They what? They drop their leaves when it’s dry to save moisture and grow them again after it rains? Maybe we should share some of our water with them. That might make them grow some leaves.

Not all the water. I want some too.

Okay person, would you stop taking pictures? If we head back now we still might be able to find that elusive century plant.

Ocotillo and Century Plant

 
36 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

The Dog Park

Sedona Dog ParkToday my person and I got in the car and we started driving the way we go to the vet. I like the vet because they give me lots of loves and treats so I was excited.

But then my person did something strange.

Hey, person. You took a wrong turn. The vet’s that way.

What? We’re not going to the vet?

I was really bummed until we got out of the car. There were lots of dog smells there.

Come on person, let’s go. Where are we anyway?

This is a dog park? They have parks for dogs? You never told me that before.

What? I’m finally starting to be nice to all the other dogs on my trails so you thought you’d let me come? What do you mean finally starting to? I’m always nice.

I couldn’t believe it when my person took off my leash. I found so many places to check messages and leave my own that I ran out of message juice – and without my leash my person couldn’t even drag me away.

Bongo Sniffing  a Tree

Bongo Sniffing a Garbage Can

Bongo Sniffing Bushes

Bongo Sniffing a Bush

Then I met Baxter. That little pup followed me around but I think he just wanted my Frisbee.

Baxter Following Bongo

Baxter really had his eye on my Frisbee.

Baxter Looking at Bongo's Frisbee

There’s no doubt about Baxter’s motives now.

Baxter Grabbing Bongo's Frisbee

Baxter and Bongo playing Tug o War with the Frisbee

Now Baxter, if you just remember who that Frisbee belongs to we’ll get along fine.

Baxter and Bongo looking at the Frisbee

Hey person, I had great fun at the Dog Park chasing Frisbees and balls. Can we go back tomorrow?

What? What do you mean I got too much exercise and you didn’t get enough?

Bongo Panting

 
37 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

No More Flowers

Prickly Pear BlossomMost of the flowers on my trails are starting to fade and I’m kind of happy about it. I’m getting tired of my person stopping every few feet to take flower pictures. Aren’t we supposed to be walking when we go out on my trails? I mean, it is called a walk, isn’t it?

My person makes me stay around her when she’s taking pictures and it’s really boring. I start looking for some good weeds to munch on and she gets mad at me for it and yanks me away from them. Or I try to run off down the trail – and then, boing! I hit the end of my leash. And my person yanks me back when I do that too.

So it’s good that we’re running out of flowers for my person to take pictures of. Well, I thought we were anyway. We were walking along the trail and I saw something yellow that wasn’t there before. And then another – and another.

Oh, no! It’s the prickly pears. They’re starting to bloom. And the prickly pears are everywhere on my trails. And they all have lots of flowers. If my person tries to take pictures of all those flowers I’ll never get my walk. We’ll be stopping and going forever. Click, click, click.

It’s bad enough that I have to hang around and wait for my person while she’s taking pictures. But what if she doesn’t finish before it’s time for dinner?

Orange Prickly Pear Blossoms

 
42 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

Yucca Yellow Flowers

Yucca with Yellow FlowersNothing exciting happened today. I don’t know what I’m going to write about. All I saw was this darn yucca plant with yellow flowers in it.

My friend Rumpy is having a poetry day on Friday and I’ve been trying to think what I should write – so maybe I’ll get some poetry practice in now. I’ve got to fill up the space with something. So here goes.

 

Yucca Yellow Flowers

 Last year I yearned for adventure

Much more than I found in my yard

Scratchy offered me yarn and a yo-yo

and I yelped when I bit it too hard

 

My younger person served me some yogurt

and yummy it turned out to be

but I let out a yap when he didn’t

say yes to my need to be free

 

Yesterday I ran for my trails

Off yonder I started to cower

And I yelled when I felt the sharp poke of

a yucca with yellow flowers

 
40 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Whose Blog is this Anyway?

Cactus FlowerHey person, what do you think this is, a nature photography blog? This is my blog after all, and I don’t want any pictures of those dumb cactus flowers on it. I mean, what are they good for? You can’t even see if they smell good because if you try you might get pricklers up your nose. And I know they’re not good for eating. I wouldn’t even think of taking a bite. And you know me, I eat almost anything.

.

.

.

Now look at this. A tennis ball, waiting for me, right in the middle of my trail. Now that’s something to put on my blog. It’s not every day that a tennis ball shows up. Here’s a newsworthy item. Take a picture of it.

Bongo Sniffing a Tennis Ball

Hey, what are you doing taking more pictures of that stupid cactus? You’re taking more pictures of that than my tennis ball. C’mon, I need more pictures of the tennis ball.

Tennis Ball

Okay, I’ll let you put one more picture up. Only because I need you to help me write my blog. That picture there. You can put that one up. That cactus has personality. It looks like a Transformer.

Transformer Cactus

 
52 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , ,

I’m Abstract

Bongo AbstractSome of my blogging friends like Katie and Jennifer like to do abstract photography sometimes. Since my person made me do I’m doing an art blog this week I thought I would try my hand at abstract photography. I had to do it a little differently than my friends do, since I have trouble holding the camera.

I made my person hold the camera and I did the moving. What do you think? Is that a great photo of me, or what?

I think I should get my person to blow it up and hang it on the wall. After all, some of her stuff is on the wall. I think mine should be too.

Or, wait a minute – I have an even better idea. I could get my person to make a bunch of prints and I could sell them. I could be rich. I’m sure everyone would want one of these.

Hey person, who’s Rich? Is he one of your friends? I think I just want to keep being Bongo.

 
59 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

New Adventure – New Friend

Pablo and BongoMy person let me get into the car with her today. The little car, not the big one. She usually takes me to the vet in the little car. Maybe I’m going to get more loves and treats.

Hmmm. We don’t usually go this far in the car when we go to the vet’s. I wonder where we’re going.

Finally, we’re stopping. Hey, there’s a little dog here. I recognize this dog. I’ve smelled him on you before person. He’s getting in the car with us too?

Bongo looking at Pablo in the front seat

Hey, how come Pablo gets to ride in front?

We rode for a little while – with me in the back and Pablo in the front – and then all of us got out of the car. It’s a trail!

Bongo and Pablo on the trail

I’ll give you a head start Pablo.

Bongo tangled around a post

Hey Pablo, wait for me!

Bongo and Bell Rock

Hey person, hurry up. What is that thing up there?

It’s a rock? Bell Rock? It looks like a giant UFO.

Really? Some people think a real UFO is going to come out of that rock? I wonder if any aliens look like dogs.

Bongo Leading the Way

Hey person, the trail goes this way.

Bongo and Pablo not looking at the scenery

What are you looking at?

View from the Trail

View from the Trail

Edge of Cathedral Rock

Bell Rock

View from the Trail

Edges of Bell Rock and Cathedral Rock

Pablo and Bongo on the Trail

Hey Pablo, I think our people have been looking at these rocks long enough. Let’s take them back to the car now.

 
69 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Swimming Again

Bongo in the 4RunnerThis morning we got into the 4Runner and I wasn’t sure where we were going, but last time we got in it we had lots of fun, so I was excited. We drove for awhile and then we stopped. No long trip on bumpy roads. I guess we weren’t headed for that fun place we went to last time. We got out of the 4Runner and guess who I found there. My little friend who was at my house the other day. Maybe I can go on the trails with him again. And my little friend’s parents were there too. We were in a parking lot, but that was okay because I was with friends. But then my person walked away. Was she deserting me? Oh man, I was worried. Oh here she comes. No problem person. I knew you were coming back.

We got back in the 4Runner and went for a ways on some bumpy roads. And then we got out again. Hey, I know this place. My swimming hole is down there. Let’s go.

Bongo Wrapped Around a Post

I got so excited I wrapped myself around a post.

First Water on the Trail

There’s a swimming hole here. What do you mean that’s not the one?

Bongo Carrying a Log

I’ve got a stick. Could somebody throw it for me?

People Crossing the Creek

I’m not sure why you’re making such a big deal about crossing the creek.

Bongo Crossing the Creek

See, it’s easy.

Swimming Hole

Yay. We finally made it to my swimming hole.

Bongo Shaking Off

Just a little shake. Anybody else wet?

Bongo and Another Dog

I met a few dogs, but I didn’t really care. I’d gone after my younger person. He was cutting a new stick for me.

Bongo with a Stick in his Mouth

Come on person. Throw the stick for me.

Bongo Going After a Big Log

Everybody started eating lunch and they wouldn’t throw sticks for me anymore. I didn’t care about eating. I only wanted to fetch sticks. I guess I’ll have to get my own stick.

Little Friend, Bongo, and a Stick

My Little Friend couldn’t throw the sticks very far, but at least he tried.

Little Friend and Bongo on the Trail

I’m not ready to head back yet.

Bongo Getting One More Swim

Yippee! They let me go in for one last swim.

 
84 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

Walking in the Rain

BongoCome on person. It’s not my fault you were gone all day and then it started raining just when you were going to take me out. You’ve got a hood on your jacket. Put it up. Let’s go.

Go figure. You didn’t even want to go out in the rain and now you’ve got your camera out. See, what did I tell you? It’s really pretty out here when it rains. Keep walking person.

 

 

Grayback in Rain

You can look at that rainbow as long as you keep walking while you’re doing it. Put your camera away person. We’re supposed to be going on a walk.

Rainbow behind dead tree

Rainbow over Sugarloaf

It’s a good thing I talked you into going out in the rain. The sun’s going down. It we’d waited until the rain stopped it would have been dark.

Rainy Sunset

You’re already wet person, but since my younger person didn’t come with us would it be alright if I shake myself off on him?

Wet Bongo

I don’t care if he gets mad. I’m doing it anyway.

 
67 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas

Click picture for more great pet blogs


 
36 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Bongo, dogs, humor

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,